ClickTale Support Forums

All times are UTC - 6 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HTTPS Support
PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:30 pm
Posts: 18
I see you already have plans for HTTPS support. I just want to encourage it. One of the most critical parts of our site is the checkout process, and since that happens over HTTPS, we can't get data on this very important process. Do you have any idea of when you will implement this?

Thanks!

Jake


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: HTTPS Support
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 13
Hi Jake,
HTTPS support is certainly something we are planning to implement and charge for. What we would like to find out is how many users would be willing to pay for this feature and how much we can reasonably charge. Please let us know your thoughts.
-Tal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 13
My fear is for user privacy.

We are dealing with really private information-I have a huge issue with recording this private information for fear of interception. It is so important to me that there is no possible way for this information to viewed by anyone but exactly who needs to view it. If someone where to intercept it this would be a giant issue.

...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:29 pm
Posts: 13
Any comments/responses to this question/statement?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Secure code is critical!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:34 am
Posts: 16
While I understand the reason for charging extra for secure code (https funtionality), I think not having that as a standard feature is going to be a huge mistake.

In the first place, people are not going to be paying for this service just to be a virtual voyeur on the activities of there hobby blog. Your clientele is going to come from people who generate revenue from their site(s).

That said, right now, in all of my recordings, if someone lands on a page and the very next page is a secure page (https://) then the previous page recording cannot be played as well, and an error message is displayed. This is a real problem when the goal is to analyze conversion rates.

While I can gain valuable insight on non secure pages, the big picture can only be seen if I can watch the entire process, including purchases/abandoned carts. The goal is going to be to increase conversion rates, lengthen customer retention, and increase overall customer satisfaction with the site.

So in short, YES I would ONLY pay for this service if secure code was included. Even if it meant the price would increase.

If the issue is security certificate usage, why not allow the secure javascript to be hosted on the user's server, but have a setup fee, which would require notification. That way, should the code change, you know which members are running the javascript on their own server and they could be emailed for the update. Everyone else who is not interested would simply use the system as normal.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
Hey Adam,

SSL is definitely something we are planning to support. It is going to be part of the "better" plans which are targeted for businesses. As you have suggested yourself there is no point in offering that in free or personal plans.
Generating a code that supports SSL creates a "local" version of the code which means that the user has to host the javascript files himself. This is also true if you are trying to generate a regular code but your site has a lot of traffic. Still the recording engine sends a lot of data to our servers and initiates several handshakes per each pageview, so hosting the files locally only solves part of the load.
We didn't finish implementing this because there is not enough business interest at the moment. Once it is up and running we will try this feature with the winners of our contest who have VIP accounts.

Regards,
Arik.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 8:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
SSL support was added to some of the premium plans. If you subscribe to such a plan you will be able to generate a special recording code that supports SSL.

Regards,
Arik.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:02 am
Posts: 1
I'm trying to avoid users seeing the error message when they hit one of our encrypted pages.

Would it be possible to set ClickTale up to *not* even attempt record https pages via client side javascript using something along the lines of:

if (document.location.protocol != "https:")


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 4:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
ClickTale does check the protocol and doesn't record the page if it is https. Unfourtunately at that point it is already too late. The problematic part is the line:
Code:
<script src="http://www.clicktale.net/WRa.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

which creates a http request.

You can do two things:
1: Host WRa.js yourself. Con: harder to stay updated with the latest version.
2: Do something like this
Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
if (document.location.protocol != "https:")
document.write('<script src="http://www.clicktale.net/WRa.js" type="text/javascript"></script>');
</script>


Does it make sense?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:12 am
Posts: 3
I am not a programmer, and some of this is above my knowledge.

We are a non-profit group, and bought into this last week because it seems like an amazing way to get some additional analytical information on visits. But we have run into a few problems since implementing it, and I am finding some answers here in the forum.

Our set up: We have the largest part of the page (news stories, and other story type content) on a local server (ob.org). We recently launched a service on another server, in another state, that hosts our home page, a few sub pages, and the secure e-commerce type transactions (community.ob.org & secure.ob.org). So, they "look" like subdomains, but they are physically not really.

I removed the coding from these two for now till I figure out the best way to re-implement it and not mess up the secure issue (we do not have the professional pack that supports https).

So, not being a coder so much, can someone provide me with the exact code I would need to run it (where the additional lines of code would be best located in the script) that would make it not record secure pages?

Also, the other issue I have yet to solve, though I have implemented the coding as seen here in the forums, is that of getting it to recognize all three domain names as one site. Our home page is at community.ob.org, but once they leave that name (which is the majority of the links from that page), it stops recording. You can find the coding I use, on any of the pages at ob.org since I had to remove it from the community.ob.org pages till this is resolved.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
Hi Jeff,

Try:

Code:
<!-- ClickTale Bottom part -->
<div id="ClickTaleDiv" style="display: none;"></div>

<script type="text/javascript">
if (document.location.protocol != "https:")
document.write('<script src="http://s.clicktale.net/WRb.js" type="text/javascript"></script>');
</script>

<script type="text/javascript">
if(typeof ClickTale=='function')
{
   ClickTaleCookieDomain="ob.org";
   ClickTaleEventsMask-=4; // mask out keys
   ClickTale(14267,0.13);
}
</script>
<!-- ClickTale end of Bottom part -->


Note: The above code is tailored for Jeff. Before copying, make sure you know what parts to change for your site.

Arik.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:12 am
Posts: 3
Thank you so much, you've made my life that much easier. The script appears to work, in that I no longer get the unsecure issue with the code present. My browser tools do make note an one error due to the code being on it. It says

unterminated string literal
document.write('<script src="http://s.clicktale.net/WRb.js" type="text/javascript"></script>');

Does that mean anything to you, and can it be fixed to get rid of the error?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:00 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
Try

document.write('<scr'+'ipt src="http://s.clicktale.net/WRb.js" type="text/javascript"></scr'+'ipt>');

Perhaps the presence of a tag in the string confuses it.

Regards,
Arik.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:12 am
Posts: 3
AH!! Beautiful!! Thanks so much, that did the trick.

Much appreciated!!

Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HTTPS Support
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:01 pm
Posts: 1
In doing this HTTPS support how it would make it Accurate
in my files?just wondering if how it works together.

make money online


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group