ClickTale Support Forums

All times are UTC - 6 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Vanity URLs
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:40 pm
Posts: 2
Hi, just tried the free version and want the paid one to get all recordings from my site.

However i use some 301 redirect via vanity urls for tracking offline adverts. What Will clicktale show in the recording when someone arrives via vanity url?

Regards

Frank


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vanity URLs
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:47 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
Hi Frank,

It is best to try this on one of your domains and see.
What I think will happen is that you will place the code in main.com and the recordings will have main.com as the URL and vanity.com as the referrer.
Depending on how you implement your rewrite, you can often pass the original referrer to your main.com page as a parameter or as changed headers.

Regards,
Arik.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vanity URLs
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:40 pm
Posts: 2
Hi Arik

Thanks for the reply.

Can i do this on a trial version with only 1 domain allowed?

Regards

Frank


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vanity URLs
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:03 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
Hi,

Based on your description it seems that the vanity domain only redirects to the main domain. So the visitor isn't browsing the vanity domain and therefore that domain doesn't need to be recorded. Since it isn't recorded, it doesn't account for your domains quota.

Arik.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vanity URLs
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:29 am
Posts: 1
Hi, I have a similar situation...my visitors are coming to two different URL's (according to clicktale), but are actually the same... i.e. www.mydomain.com and mydomain.com (without the www) I am going to be a business customer soon but I don't want to waste my domain credits on this issue since we have sub domains... is there a work around?

CR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vanity URLs
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Israel
Hi CR,

ClickTale refers to http://www.domain.zzz and domain.zzz as to two separate sub-domains. You will need to allocate two domain credits if you will want to record both of those sub domains at once.
Our various plans have different domain limitations. Please choose the one that best suited to your needs.

Arik.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group